IX.XIV.MCMLXXXIX.

15 Sep

#nowplaying – Kanye West ft. Pusha T – Runaway   

On this day, 21 years ago, God saw favor in my mother to allow her to give birth to a son. Niko Giovanni Cortez Clemmons, weighing in at 10 lbs. 8 ounces. (ha just kidding).   

I blew up before I grew up.

Cute eh? Yeah I know, what happened right? Lol. Well today, Tuesday, September 14, 2010, I officially became a “man” as America describes this age.  I felt no differently, but let me say that the people I encountered today made me feel like I was on top of the world.   

I have to say THANK YOU to everyone who wished me a Happy Birthday today, whether it was in person, through BBM or text, Twitter & Facebook. I don’t think people realized how much that meant to me. You took time out of your day to recognize that it was my birthday. Every one of you guys ROCK!   

But it doesn’t even stop there. I also want to say thank you to everyone who graciously gave me a gift on today, whether it was a card, candy, etc. I especially want to thank my mother, father, brother & sister, Chimere, Shay, Dasha, LaTonia & the entire SLP Program.  

Finally, I have to thank Lauren Legette. I have no words right now to really express how I feel. She made me feel like I was special tonight. Never have I ever had a “party” or “gathering” of some sort for my birthday. Tonight, that all changed. When you look in the dictionary for the definition of a “surprise party”, what she did for me tonight was that! I was completely surprised & shocked! My face was priceless lol. I wish I had the picture now, but I’ll probably post it tomorrow in a quick post. Lauren, thank you love.  

My friend #realbad.

What have I learned in my 21 years of existence? God is truly an awesome God. Some people never make it to see this age. Without Him, there is no me! My journey isn’t over yet. There’s still so much more for me to do, so that I can make a difference in somebody else’s life. 

So September 14, until we meet again.  

 

 

 

 

 

Who would have thought, I'd be caught in this life.

One Response to “IX.XIV.MCMLXXXIX.”

  1. Lauren Legette September 16, 2010 at 4:02 am #

    Nikofbaby,

    So glad you enjoyed your bday! No need to thank me! We were all just glad we could make your party come to life! Love you!!

    #friendsrealbad

    &hearts MissLegette

Leave a Reply

